David Warner is reappointed as the Sunriser's Captain

David Warner is reappointed as the Sunriser’s Captain

New Captain for Sunrisers

Sunrisers Hyderabad has reappointed Australian opener David Warner as their captain for IPL season 2020. He was the winning captain in 2016. But, there was a ban on him for the 2018 season due to ball-tampering.

He played for them last year but the franchise went with Kane Williamson as its first-choice captain and Bhuvneshwar Kumar as his vice-captain. Warner said that he is extremely happy that he has been given the opportunity to lead the team once again for the upcoming IPL season.

He applauded Kane Williamson and Bhuvneshwar Kumar because of the way they led the team in the previous two years. He thanked management for this opportunity and said that he will try his level best to lift the Trophy this year.

Warner has been Sunrisers’s most dependable player with the bat since he joined the side in 2014. He made an instant impact in his debut season for the franchise as he scored 528 runs in 14 matches at a strike rate of 140.80. He was appointed as the captain for IPL 2020 because of his brilliant performance.

David Warner has played four seasons for them. He has scored 562, 848, 642, and 692 runs and won the Orange Cap in 2015, 2017, and 2019. He has played 126 IPL games and has achieved 4706 runs. David Warner is fourth in the list of the tournament’s all-time run-getters. The top three run-getters are Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, and Rohit Sharma. He will now pair up with a new head coach Trevor Bayliss for the upcoming season.





Image Credit

Featured Image

Leave a Reply