Foreign players were excluded from the upcoming edition of DPL

Foreign players were excluded from the upcoming edition of DPL

No Foreign Players in upcoming edition of DPL

The Bangladesh Cricket Board has announced that there will be no foreign cricketers in the upcoming Dhaka Premier League, the country’s traditional List A tournament on Sunday on 23rd February. Cricket Committee of Dhaka Metropolis, a BCB wing formed to look after the Dhaka club-based domestic leagues, took the decision to do away with the participation of foreign cricketers from the upcoming season.

Earlier, players like Wasim Akram, Neil Fairbrother, Richard Illingworth, Arjuna Ranatunga, and Sanath Jayasuriya were part of the DPL while Wasim Jaffer and Unmukt Chand were among those who played the tournament last year. In the previous edition,15 cricketers were Indians, four Sri Lankan players and five Pakistani players who played in the DPL.

We have decided to exclude foreign cricketers in the upcoming edition of the Dhaka Premier League to see what local players can do if there is no foreign player around. Also, we don’t have foreign players in BCL (Bangladesh Cricket League) or NCL (National Cricket League) said by Kazi Inam Ahmed, the CCDM chairman, after a meeting. 

The DPL will get in progress from March 15 while the players’ exchange will be held from the 3rd of March to the 5th of March. With Bangladesh taking on Zimbabwe in an ODI arrangement in Sylhet, the CCDM will open a work area there so the players can enlist for the association.

The Bangladesh cricketers, during their strike, set a 13-point request – one of which expressed that there ought to be an open market for cricketers in the DPL rather than players by decision.

Throughout the previous two years, we had a player by decision marking arrangement which will be on. Be that as it may, the players needed the past alternative of singing straightforwardly with the clubs. So the players can sign haggling with the clubs legitimately.




Image Credit

Featured Image

2 thoughts on “Foreign players were excluded from the upcoming edition of DPL

  1. Long time supporter, and thought I’d drop a comment.

    Your wordpress site is very sleek – hope you don’t mind me asking what theme you’re using?
    (and don’t mind if I steal it? :P)

    I just launched my site –also built in wordpress like
    yours– but the theme slows (!) the site down quite a

    In case you have a minute, you can find it by searching for “royal cbd” on Google (would appreciate any feedback) – it’s still in the works.

    Keep up the good work– and hope you all take care of yourself during the coronavirus scare!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »