Hobart Hurricanes vs Sydney thunder

Hobart Hurricanes vs Sydney thunder

Eliminator Match

Sydney Thunder won the toss and have opted to bat first.

Here are the teams: 

Sydney Thunder: Usman Khawaja, Alex Hales, Callum Ferguson, Alex Ross, Arjun Nair, Chris Morris, Daniel Sams, Jay Lenton, Chris Tremain, Jonathan Cook, and Brendan Doggett.

Hobart Hurricanes: Matthew Wade, D Arcy Short, Macalister Wright, Ben Mcdermott, George Bailey, Simon Milenko, James Faulkner, Clive Rose, Nathan Ellis, Qais Ahmed, and Scott Boland.

Sydney thunder started brilliantly as they were 54 for 0 in the powerplay. At the halfway stage, they have reached 104 for 1. Khawaja was dismissed on a slower delivery by Faulkner on 54. In 15 overs, they managed to score 147 for 2. Hales got dismissed by Boland on 60. They posted a total of 197 for 5 in their innings. It seems to be a good score considering to be an eliminator game. There will be huge pressure on HBH and it won’t be easy to chase the score. Faulkner, Clive Rose, Nathan Ellis, and Boland took one wicket.

Hobart Hurricanes scored 55 for 1 in the powerplay. They started well but they lost three wickets in the next four overs and at the halfway stage, they stand at 78 for 4. They were able to score 140 in the innings as they did not bat well after the power play and kept on losing wickets which made them out of the chase. SYT bowled extremely well as picked wickets in the middle overs and put them under pressure and did not allow them to come back into the game. D Arcy Short was their top-scoring batsman with a score of 37 in just 24 balls. Milenko played a run a ball 28 but other players struggled to score runs and 197 seems to be a good scoring considering an eliminator game. Sydney Thunder won the game by 57 runs. Jonathan Cook picked four wickets. Chris Morris took three and Daniel sams took one wicket. Cook is awarded as Man of the Match for his four-wicket haul in the middle overs which turned the game.

Image Credit

Featured Image



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *