India vs New Zealand 1st T20

India vs New Zealand 1st T20

India have won the toss and have opted to field first.

Here are the teams:

India: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Jasprit Bumrah.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Tim Seifert, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Blair Tickner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi.

India vs New Zealand 1st T20
Featured India

Aggressive start from New Zealand as they have scored 68 for 0 in the powerplay. Both the openers Martin Guptill and Colin Munro are smashing boundaries in Indian bowling. At the halfway stage, they have reached 91 for 1. Guptill gave a good start but he was dismissed on 30 by Shivam Dube. They have posted a total of 203 for 5. Ross Taylor played an unbeaten innings of 54 in just 27 deliveries with a strike rate of 200. Munro and Kane Williamson also scored fifties. They achieved 59 and 51. Except Shami, everyone took one wicket.

India also started aggressively as they scored 65 for 1 in the power-play. At the halfway stage, they reached 115 for 2. Rahul played well as he achieved 56 in just 27 balls with a strike rate of 207. Virat  Kohli also batted well and he achieved 45 runs. Shreyas Iyer played an exceptional inning and he was unbeaten on 58 in 29 deliveries and his strike rate was 200. India chased the total quite comfortably in the end with one over to spare and won the game by six wickets. Ish Sodhi picked two and Mitchell Santner and Tickner took one wicket.

Shreyas Iyer is awarded as Player of the Match for his outstanding performance. He batted well as he kept on playing shots and played till the end because at one stage when Virat and Shivam Dube got out it could have been a difficult chase if they would have lost one more wicket. The way he is batting his confidence seems to be on the next level.





Image Credit

Featured Image

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »