India vs New Zealand 5th T20
Match Summary

India vs New Zealand 5th T20

India won the toss and have opted to bat first.

Here are the teams:

India: KL Rahul, Sanju Samson, Rohit Sharma, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Jasprit Bumrah.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Tim Seifert, Ross Taylor, Tom Bruce, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, and Hamish Bennett.

India got a good start as they scored 53 for 1 in the powerplay. Another failure for Samson as he got out on 2. Rohit batted at number three position and he is also captaining the side today. He is now forming a  partnership with Rahul. At the halfway stage, they reached 84 for 1. In the 15 overs, they have managed to score 117 for 2. Kl batted well as he achieved 45 in 33 deliveries. Rohit batted exceptionally well as he scored 60 in just 41 balls but he got retired hurt and he went off the field.

They have posted a score of 163 for 3 in their innings but they lost the momentum once Hitman got off to the field. They should have scored at least 175 runs on the wicket. Shreyas Iyer played a run a ball 33.  Manish Pandey played a small cameo of 11 in just 4 deliveries. Scott Kuggeleijn picked a couple of wickets. It would be interesting to see who will be captaining the side whether it will be Rahul or Iyer if Rohit did not come out to field.

KL is the stand-in captain.

NewZealand scored 41 for 3 in the powerplay. At the halfway stage, they reached 98 for 3. Taylor and Seifert are playing well and forming a great partnership. Shivam Dube bowled poorly as he gave 34 runs in his one over. Seifert got dismissed on 50. Ross Taylor got dismissed on 53 in his 100th T20. They were able to score 156 for 9 in their innings. India bowled brilliantly and they won the game by 7 runs. Jasprit Bumrah took three wickets. Shardul Thakur and Navdeep Saini picked a couple of wickets. Jasprit Bumrah is awarded as Player of the Match and Kl Rahul is awarded as Man of the Series.





Image Credit

Featured Image

2 Replies to “India vs New Zealand 5th T20

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *