Is There a Loop Hole in Concussion Substitute Rule? There was a huge controversy about India being given the concussion substitute in the form of Yuzvendra Chahal for Ravindra Jadeja.
Jadeja was hit on the helmet with the ball. But, he also had some hamstring issues. The Australian coach Justin Langer was not at all happy with the match referee’s decision. He wasn’t happy when the referee allows India a concussion substitute. Is There a Loop Hole in Concussion Substitute Rule?
Veteran Indian spinner and ex-International cricketer Pragyan Ojha stated that he could understand why the Australians were unhappy. But, India was well within its limits for asking for a concussion substitute.
As per him, “Rules of all kinds have a loophole. However, this one goes in favor of the Indians.” His argument was that even though the ball had hit Jadeja on his helmet. But, he continues to bat. So the point of giving a concussion substitute for that sole reason alone is quite indigestible.
Overall, we can for sure say that it was a controversial move on the part of the match referee and the Indian cricket team. Another veteran Indian player Sanjay Manjrekar says that although India was given a concussion substitute in the form of Y. Chahal, it will be alright if the ICC looks into the rules once again so that one team does not end up getting undue advantage of the rule.
Overall, the whole incident attracted mixed reactions and some people supported and opposed India’s decision. We hope that the ICC comes in clarifies the rule for once and for all.
If you would like to know about our verdict about the question “Is There a Loop Hole in Concussion Substitute Rule?” Then it does seem that there is some sort of a loophole which the Indians have taken advantage of while being in the game. While ICC needs to further clarify the rules related to the concussion substitute practice.
We hope that you liked this article. If you did, please don’t forget to share us with your friends and family. Stay connected for all things cricket.