Cricket-The Dream Sport

South African Cricketer of the Year has been announced

South African Cricketer of the Year has been announced


South African dashing batsman Quinton de Kock has been announced as the South Africa Men’s Cricketer of the Year. He was receiving awards in a virtual awards ceremony. It took place on Saturday the 4th of July.

He also got the award for Test Cricketer of the Year. However, Makhaya Ntini, Kagiso Rabada, Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, and Jacques Kallis are the other cricketers who have won the award twice.

Laura Wolvaardt won two awards as well (South Africa Women’s Cricketer of the Year and ODI Cricketer of the Year). At the age of 21, Laura was in the tournament select XI at the conclusion of the ICC Women’s World T20 and she will be the key player in the upcoming ICC Women’s World Cup.

Lungi Ngidi won both the best ODI Cricketer and T20I Cricketer of the Year awards. Anrich Nortje is the Men’s Newcomer of the Year. Because he bowled brilliantly in the Test series against England.

Shabnim Ismail was named the South African Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year. While Nonkululeko Mlaba is the Women’s Newcomer of the Year.

CSA’s acting chief executive Dr Jacques Faul said that Quinton and Laura have set the high standards that we expect from our young players. He has also led the team against Australia and the team performed brilliantly in all the departments.





Featured Image