England Cricket Team

England Cricket Team

The England Cricket Team represents Wales and England in the international cricketing world.

After 1997, England Cricket Team has been governed by the ECB (England and Wales Cricket Board). The previous controlling authority before this was the MCC (Marylebone Cricket Club) since the year 1903.

England is the founding nation of the prestigious ICC (International Cricket Council). Interestingly, Irish and Scottish cricketers also used to play for the English till the 90s because their countries were not a member of the ICC yet.

England Cricket Team

Featured Image

England played the first-ever test match with Australia in March 1877. Along with then South Africa, both countries collectively created the Imperial Cricket Conference in the year 1909. This organization preceded the current ICC. 

England and Australia also played the first-ever ODI (One Day International) match on 5th January 1971. Their achievements in ICC organized tournaments have managed to win the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup

They have managed to make it to the final of the ICC World Cups 4 times. They were also the runner-ups of two ICC Champions Trophies (2013 and 2004). England have also won the ICC T20 World Cup in 2010 and were also able to finish as the runner-ups in the 2016 edition.

They also hold a variety of records as a team. Some of them are as follows.

  • Highest ever team total in test cricket against the Australian cricket team (903/7)
  • The only team in the history of test cricket has managed to win over 100+ test matches by an innings.

And they hold many more records as well. Another interesting fact about the England cricket team is that it was not always an over consisting of 6 deliveries for them. There used to be a time when an overused to consist of 8 balls as well.




Featured Image

Spread the love

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top