Men’s Big Bash League

Men’s Big Bash League I Australian Domestic Cricket Tournament I

Men’s Big Bash League (MBBL) is an Australian professional domestic cricket tournament for men. Since its inception in 2011, Cricket Australia has been conducting Men’s Big Bash League on the KFC T20 Big Bash format. The tournament is played in the months of December to February, during the southern hemisphere summer.

Men’s BBL consists of 8 city-based franchise teams while previously in KFC Twenty 20 BB format, only six teams had participated. Out of 8 professional Australian teams, six teams have already won the title for at least one time. Sydney Sixers are the two-time champions of this domestic league.

In the 9th season of BBL, Sydney Sixers beat Melbourne Stars by 9 runs to win the champion’s trophy while the team won the 8th edition against Melbourne Renegades. The other four teams which have won the BBL championship title are Adelaide Strikers, Melbourne Renegades, Sydney Thunder, and Brisbane Heat.

Since the inception of Men’s BBL in 2011, KFC has been sponsoring the competition. Additionally, apart from the inaugural season, MBBL has been played under the same format every year. There were some changes in rule in 2018-2019, each team will be given the opportunity to play twice before the finale series. Hence, 56 regular matches are being played from BBL 8th edition.

Men’s Big Bash League Team and Captains

Team Name Captain
Adelaide Strikers Travis Head
Brisbane Heat Chris Lynn
Hobart Hurricanes Matthew Wade
Melbourne Renegades Aaron Finch
Melbourne Stars Glenn Maxwell
Perth Scorchers Mitchell Marsh
Sydney Sixers Moises Henriques
Sydney Thunder Callum Ferguson

Men’s Big Bash League 2020-2021

The 10th season of MBBL will commence on December 10, 2020. Men’s Big Bash League (MBBL) 2020 -2021 has fixed a total of 61 matches among all the team players.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic situation, the Twenty20 format MBBL 2020-21 will be played at 7 neutral venues, namely the Bellerive Oval, The Gabba, Metricon Stadium, Manuka Oval, York Park, Adelaide Oval, and Carrara Stadium.



Featured Image

Spread the love

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top