Home Teams Sri Lankan Cricket Team

Sri Lankan Cricket Team

Sri Lankan Cricket Team

Sri Lankan cricket team first played international cricket while named as Ceylon in 1926-1927.

Sri Lankan Cricket Team was granted the test status much later by the ICC in the year 1981. The governing body of this team is Sri Lanka Cricket.

Sri Lankan Cricket Team

Featured Image

The team’s performance gained incredible momentum in the decade of the 90s. So much so that they even managed to win the ICC Cricket World Cup in 1996. They also managed to successfully reach the finals of the 2011 and 2007 World Cups.

They were also the winner of the ICC Champions Trophy in 2002 besides winning the ICC T20I World Cup in 2014. Lankans were also the runner ups in the T20 World Cup of 2009 and 2012. They played their first-ever test match against England in February 1982. While if we talk about their first-ever ODI game, they played it against West Indies on June 7th, 1975.

At one point of the team, Sri Lanka was considered as one of the best T20I teams when they maintained their number one position in ICC rankings for a record 32 months. They also have some bleak records to their name.

One of these is a record of losing 12 consecutive ODI matches in the year 2017. This is a second-longest losing streak in ODI cricket history. Perhaps the most infamous incident associated with the Sri Lankan cricket team is the brutal terrorist attack of 2009.

The Sri Lankans were on a tour of Pakistan when 12 gunmen attacked them! Almost half a dozen players were injured in this brutal assault. This proves that Pakistan is a failed state and is incapable of hosting foreign nationals in their countries. The attack was carried out because the Sri Lankan players were non-Muslims. Attacks like these undermine the game of cricket as a whole.




Featured Image


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here