West Indies Cricket Team

West Indies Cricket Team I Cricket West Indies I Caribbean I

The West Indies cricket team or the ‘Windies’ as they are popularly called was amongst the strongest cricketing team from 70s to early 90s in both of the cricketing formats (ODI and Test cricket).

The team as of now is administrated by Cricket West Indies.The players which represent West Indies Cricket Team come from a variety of different countries in the Caribbean region.

West Indies Cricket Team

Featured Image

Some of the West Indian players who have been inducted in the ICC (International Cricket Council) Hall of Fame are as follows.

  1. Sir Wes Hall
  2. Sir Viv Richards
  3. Joel Garner
  4. Courtney Walsh
  5. Michael Holding
  6. Sir Curtly Ambrose
  7. Rohan Kanhai
  8. Sir Clyde Walcott
  9. Sir Frank Worrell
  10. Brian Lara
  11. Sir Andy Roberts
  12. Alvin Kallicharran
  13. Malcolm Marshall
  14. Sir Clive Lloyd
  15. Chris Gayle
  16. Sir Everton Weekes
  17. George Headley
  18. Lance Gibbs
  19. Sir Garfield Sobers

They were also the first team to have won the ICC (International Cricket Council) World Cup consecutively (1975 and 1979). They have also won over the ICC (International Cricket Council) T20 International World Cup twice (2012 and 2016). Besides this, they have also won ICC (International Cricket Council) U-19 World Cup once (2016) and ICC (International Cricket Council) Champions Trophy (2004).

As hosts, they hosted two major ICC tournaments till now. They were Cricket World Cup in 2007 and 2010 ICC (International Cricket Council) World T20. Another interesting fact about the West Indies cricket team is that they don’t use a national flag of any of the member nations.

They make use of their own custom-built insignia. Because it promotes unity in diversity.

Hopefully, the players from West Indies will work hard and make sure that the team gets back to its golden age just like in the 70s till 90s.




Featured Image

Spread the love

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top